top of page

Paper cuts and numb thumbs

Hello everyone!

We have recently been looking a paper art and for this post I decided to do a paper-cut. If i'm honest I can find doing a paper cut-out quite tedious and sometimes even painful, I mean I've still got numb thumb but what I will say is that I always feel a big sense of accomplishment when it's done. You do have to work at them but what i'd advise is give yourself breaks while you doing it because you need to apply enough pressure so that it cuts neatly. For the piece I did I was very much inspired by style of German expressionism which has to be one of my favourite periods of Art, I love using sharp angular lines and shapes in my work. I decided to put green acetate underneath, now I know this is cheating a bit because it's not paper but I do really love the effect it gives.

Equipment used: Cartridge paper, Green acetate, A4 Cutting mat and Scalpel( Swann Morton No.3)


bottom of page