top of page

Brief of the week: Typography!

Hello everyone,

This week's brief is on Typography, as Typography is such a part on contemporary Art and illustration today. We will be looking into all thing text related anywhere, from looking into traditional calligraphy, print making to designing and playing around with typefaces. The world of typography is growing bigger and bigger in the Graphic design and illustration fields, it is definately a big part of my studies at University. So we decided it was about time to do a week on Typography and we hope you enjoy!

For this piece I used an Edgar Allan Poe quote; I was really trying to capture the feel of the quote if that makes sense so I decided to have a bit of a play around on photoshop. The orignal image was just the eye and text which I drew out with fineliner and designed the text myself. For the rest I just messed around with the smudge tool till I achieved the effect I wanted and then adjusted the exposure for the slight rainbow effect on the smudge.

Equipment used: Cartridge paper, Fineliner( Faber-Castell Ecco Pigment 0.5), Adobe Photoshop

Save


bottom of page